10 Facebook Setting Hacks You Must Try To Keep Your Account Safe From Prying Eyes

Your Facebook account is a double-edged sword. A stranger can easily stalk you and access information about your likes and dislikes just with a few clicks. To stop them, you must know these security settings that won’t let them peep into your personal profile.

1. Stop Facebook ads from stalking you

Stop Facebook ads from stalking you

Facebook tracks what you shop for online and then throw similar ad banners on your newsfeed. To stop that, go to security settings-facebook adverts and select ‘no’.

2. You can disable ‘seen’ in Facebook Messages

disable ‘seen’ in Facebook

For chrome users, there’s an extension called ‘Facebook Unseen’ which blocks the URL that sends the “read receipt” to Facebook messages

3. Don’t mention your email address on your profile

Don’t mention your email address on your profile

Even unknown people can easily access your email id from Facebook. You might have mentioned your email id in the ‘About’ section, which is easily accessible to strangers. Here’s how to remove it. Log in to your Facebook account and find the Contact Information section on your About page. Click on the Edit button. Find the email address you use to log in to Facebook with and click the down arrow beside the “Lock” icon. Place a check mark beside Only Me. Next, click the down arrow on the right and place a check mark beside Hidden from Timeline.

4.  Block persistent people on Facebook Messenger

Block persistent people on Facebook Messenger

If you don’t want to revert to a pesky friend or a creepy non-friend, all you’ve got to do is find options in the chat section and go to the advance settings. Add the name to the “Turn off chat for only some friends…” tab.

5. Make your profile picture unclickable

Make your profile picture unclickable

People who stalk you go through your profile pictures. Ideally, only your friends should be able to access these profile pictures. If you aren’t comfortable with strangers looking at your DP, then you can click on your profile picture and find the little globe icon in the top right corner. When you click on it, hit “friends.” Make sure to do this for each picture, cover photos included to make it private.

6. See your profile from a stranger’s eyes

sdc_1473252196

If you want to see what your profile looks like to a stranger, then go to your profile, and click on the three dots beside your ‘view activity log’. Scroll to the first option where it says “View As.” Enter any name (the one you aren’t friends with) and see how your Facebook is looking to them.

8. Add the names of three friends to be your trusted contacts, in case you get locked out

Add the names of three friends to be your trusted contacts

Facebook allows you to mention three to five ‘trusted contacts’ who can get a special, one-time security code from Facebook through a special URL when you accidentally get blocked from login. To enable this, go to “Settings,” select “Security” in the left column and hit “Choose trusted contacts” in the “Trusted Contacts” column.

9. Make free calls using Facebook Messenger

9. Make free calls using Facebook Messenger

10. You can log out from a different device, if you’ve accidentally left while being logged in

You can log out from a different device, if you’ve accidentally left while being logged in

If you’ve forgotten to log out of Facebook at work, fret not. You can ‘end the activity’ by going to security settings and to ‘when you’re logged in’.  Click on end activity to end your worries.

Facebook Comments